Who won European Parliament seats?

The European Parliament elections held on Sunday saw some well-known names from the Polish political stage securing their berth in Brussels.

The former PM Beata Szydło from PiS received the most votes among all candidates - 471,104, almost 100,000 votes more than the second best result, achieved by another PiS candidate, Jadwiga Wiśniewska. The Interior minister Joachim Brudziński, the Education minister Anna Zalewska, former Foreign minister Witold Waszczykowski and the candidate for the Warsaw mayor seat from 2018 Patryk Jaki are further candidates from the lists of the ruling party, who will represent Poland at the European Parliament.

All five former PMs from KE’s list: Jerzy Buzek, Ewa Kopacz, Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz, Marek Belka and Leszek Miller, are also likely to secure seats at the EP, so does the wife of the deceased Gdańsk mayor, Magdalena Adamowicz. Mr Buzek received over 367,000 votes, which is the third-best result nationwide. The former Foreign minister Radosław Sikorski, and the retired acclaimed Polish footballer Tomasz Frankowski won EP seats as well.

The leader of the Spring party, Robert Biedroń, received over 82,000 votes. Should the results from the exit poll not change, Janusz Korwin-Mikke, the leader of the Confederation, will once again make it to the European Parliament.

According to the results from the exit polls, the ruling Law and Justice party will receive 24 seats in the European Parliament, the European Coalition (KE) 22, while the Spring party and the Confederation will take three seats each.

Compared to the previous EP elections, this would mean five more seats for PiS, six seats less for KE, and one seat less for the Confederation (then named Congress of the New Right). The Spring party, relatively new on the political stage, will have their representatives in the European Parliament for the first time.