Poland, Baltic states, EC sign declaration on power grid sync

On Thursday, Poland, alongside the Baltic states and the EC, signed a declaration on the synchronisation of power systems.

The agreement was signed just before the two-day summit in Brussels by the head of the EC Jean-Claude Juncker and the heads of the aforementioned countries: Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki, Prime Minister of Estonia Jüri Ratas, Latvia's Prime Minister Arturs Krišjānis Kariņš, and Lithuanian President Dalia Grybauskaite.

The document is a continuation of the agreement signed in June last year and calls for the most important arrangements of the synchronisation process to be completed by 2025.

The synchronisation of power grids with the European Union will allow the Baltic states to decrease their dependence on electricity from Russia.

Currently, the power systems of Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia are connected by a transmission ring with Belarus and Russia in the BRELL system. Poland, like other Visegrad Group member states (Hungary, the Czech Republic and Slovakia), was incorporated into the European energy system in 1995.

During the meeting in March last year, the leaders of the Baltic states assessed the importance of the synchronisation process as "the key element for the physical integration of the Baltic States with the European continental energy system, which is a huge contribution to the unity and energy security of the European Union".

The project is to be supported by the EU financial instrument "Connecting Europe", and envisages connection with the EU network via Poland.