Cycling: Two Poles and Polish team compete in Tour de France

CCC Pro Team will take part in the 106th edition of Tour de France cycling race which will commence on Saturday and two Polish cyclists will be among the 176 participants of the Tour.

It will be the first edition of the most famous cycling race in the world to include a team registered in Poland.

The main sponsor of the team is Poland-based shoe retailer CCC.

In 2018, the CCC company announced that from the following year it will become the title sponsor of the cycling group Continuum Sports, which operated as BMC Racing Team.

The leader of the team in the race will be Belgian cyclist Greg van Avermaet, the Olympic Gold medallist from Rio de Janeiro. Among his teammates who will help him over the race will be Łukasz Wiśniowski.

The second Polish cyclist in the peloton of the 106th edition of Tour de France will be Michał Kwiatkowski, representing Team Ineos. He will support his teammates who aim for the victory in the general classification – Egan Bernal of Colombia and Geraint Thomas of the UK. The British cyclist won the Tour de France in 2018. This year’s edition marks the 100th anniversary of introducing the famous Yellow Jersey of the General Classification leader to the Tour de France.

No Polish cyclist won the general classification Tour de France in its history. Zenon Jaskuła came in third in 1993.

However, Poles won several stages of this race. Jaskuła was the best in one of them in 1993. His team also won the team time trial during that edition of the race.

In 2014, Rafał Majka won two stages and was the best in the mountains classification of the race. A year later he won another single stage and in 2016 again he was the best climber of Tour de France.

Maciej Bodnar was victorious in the time trial in 2017.