Joint declaration of Poland, Baltic States and Romania on Nazi-Soviet pact anniversary

Foreign Ministers of Poland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Romania signed a joint declaration on the 80th anniversary of Ribbentrop-Molotov pact signed by the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany and called for supporting research about the totalitarian systems.

Russia attempts to justify Ribbentrop-Molotov pact

see more

“August 23 will mark 80 years since the signing of the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact between the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany that sparked World War II and doomed half of Europe to decades of misery. The Pact contained the secret protocol which effectively carved up Eastern Europe into spheres of influence,” the text reads.

This day was also designated by the European Parliament as the European Day of Remembrance for Victims of Stalinism and Nazism.

“We remember all those whose deaths and broken lives were a consequence of the crimes perpetrated under the ideology of Nazism and Stalinism,” it was written.

“Pain and injustice will never fall into oblivion. We will remember,” the declaration reads.

The ministers called for a deeper research of totalitarian regimes. “We call upon the governments of all European countries to provide both moral and material support to the ongoing historical investigation of the totalitarian regimes. By acting in a concerted manner, we can counter more effectively disinformation campaigns and attempts to manipulate historical facts,” they wrote.

Exhibition about Baltic Way opens in Warsaw

The exhibition “The Baltic Way – An Action For Freedom” concerning the “Baltic Way,” the manifestation in 1989 of independence desires of citizens...

see more

“Our countries have been reborn as free and democratic nations after decades of totalitarian rule. Thirty years ago, our nations started the democratic transformations that eventually made us equal and vigorous members of the European Union. Our countries are determined to continue working with our partners in Europe and around the world so that the horrors of the past never re-emerge,” the declaration concludes.

It was signed by Urmas Reinsalu, Edgars Rinkēvičs, Linas Linkevičius, Jacek Czaputowicz and Ramona-Nicole Mănescu, the Foreign Ministers of Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Romania.

The full text of the declaration (in English) can be found on the website of the Polish Foreign Ministry.