Poland’s Senate congratulates Polish Nobelist with resolution

On Friday, the Polish Senate adopted a resolution in which it congratulated Polish novelist, poet, and essayist Olga Tokarczuk for winning the Nobel Prize in Literature and praised her achievements in the promotion of Polish literature.

“The Senate of the Republic of Poland congratulates Olga Tokarczuk on her international success. We recognise the great merits of her work for world literature and for building Poland’s good name in the world,” the resolution reads.

Sixty senators voted in favour of the resolution, two against and 12 abstained.

The Swedish Academy announced on October 10 that Poland’s Tokarczuk had won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Literature. She is the 15th woman to receive the literature prize, the Senate wrote in the resolution, adding that the Swedish Academy acknowledged the Polish writer’s “narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life.”

This is the fifth Nobel for Literature won by a Polish writer over the 118-year long history of the prize but for the first time it was granted to a person who created the majority of their work in a free Poland. The decision of the Nobel Committee has graced the celebration of the 100th anniversary of Poland regaining its independence, the authors of the resolution also wrote.

Olga Tokarczuk also holds the 2018 Man Booker International Prize and Nike, Poland’s top literary prize, awarded to her in 2008 for “Flights” and in 2015 for “The Book of Jacob”.

She is the eighth Pole to receive a Nobel Prize. Before her, laureates were Maria Curie Skłodowska (in 1903 in physics and 1911 in chemistry), Henryk Sienkiewicz (1905 in literature), Władysław Reymont (1924, literature), Czesław Miłosz (1980, literature), Lech Wałęsa (1983, peace prize), Józef Rotblat (1995, peace prize) and Wisława Szymborska (1996, literature).