Additional restrictions in 19 districts due to COVID-19 spread: ministry

The Health Ministry announced that it plans to impose additional sanitary restrictions in 19 districts in Poland in order to prevent the spread of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus and COVID-19 disease caused by the virus. The regions with a high number of cases will be marked with red and yellow.

Health Ministry reports record-breaking 726 new COVID-19 infections in Poland

see more

The more significant and serious regulations will be imposed in nine districts marked as red (Ostrzeszów, Nowy Sącz, Wieluń, Pszczyna, Rybnik, Wodzisław Śląski) including three cities (Nowy Sącz, Ruda Śląska, Rybnik), and in ten yellow counties (Cieszyn, Jarosław, Oświęcim, Kępno, Pińczów, Przemyśl and Wieruszów) also including three cities (Jastrzębie-Zdrój, Przemyśl, Żory).

“The most important restrictions will be an obligation to wear masks in public and limiting the number of people in public transport. We will also limit the number of people who can participate in ceremonies such as weddings, funerals and family events,” Janusz Cieszyński, a deputy Health Minister said.

“In the ‘red’ areas it will be a maximum of 50 participants, while in ‘yellow’ – 100,” Mr Cieszyński added.

Simultaneously, the Ministry will impose a requirement for those relieved from the obligation of having to wear a mask covering the nose and mouth to obtain a document.

Mr Cieszyński said that the factor of the number of coronavirus cases per 10,000 inhabitants will be assessed in each district. “For those, where it exceeds 12 in the fortnight before publication, it would mean a red colour, while for those areas between 6 and 12 – yellow,” he said.

On Thursday, the Health Ministry announced another record of the number of confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infections – 726. The total number of infected exceeded 49,500, while the death toll reached 1,774.