Cycling: Michał Kwiatkowski wins Tour de France 18th stage

Michał Kwiatkowski from the Ineos Grenadiers group won the 18th stage of Tour de France, becoming the only fourth cyclist from Poland to achieve such a feat.

During the majority of the 175-kilometre-long stage from Meribel to La Roche-sur-Foron, Kwiatkowski was in a breakaway group. The Pole and his teammate, Richard Carapaz from Ecuador escaped from that collective with six kilometres to go. Both athletes crossed the line in a cheerful atmosphere; Kwiatkowski took the victory with a narrow margin.

Third place was taken by Wout Van Aert from Belgium, who finished 1.51 minutes behind the leaders.

This year’s Tour de France is dominated by Slovenian cyclists. Primoz Roglic (Team Jumbo-Visma) kept the yellow jersey and leads the overall standings, 57 seconds ahead of his fellow countryman Tadej Pogacar (UAE-Team Emirates).

On Friday, the 19th stage of the race will start in Bourg-en-Bresse and finish in Champagnole.

Kwiatkowski became the fourth Polish winner of a Tour de France stage, the others being Rafał Majka (2014, 2015), Zenon Jaskuła (1993) and Maciej Bodnar (2017).