16 'red' zones, 28 'yellow' zones in Poland: gov't agency

The Government Legislation Centre announced on Thursday that a total of 16 districts and the northern Polish city of Sopot are designated as “red” zones, while 28 other districts and six cities are “yellow” zones.

The most rigorous sanitary restrictions have been implemented in “red-marked” zones, where wearing face masks in public, including outside, has been made obligatory. Capacity in cinemas is capped at 25 percent of the available number of seats there. Theme and amusement parks have been closed. Cultural events, conferences and fairs have been suspended, while sporting events cannot admit spectators.

The list of “yellow-designated” zones includes 28 districts and cities with district rights and includes: Gdańsk, Gdynia, and Szczecin, in northern Poland; Rzeszów, southeastern Poland; and Kielce and Nowy Sącz, in southern Poland. Less stringent restrictions are implemented in “yellow” zones.

In the “yellow” zones, face masks are not compulsory in public space, however, a social distance of 1.5 metres must be maintained. A 25-percent cap on audiences is obligatory in cinemas. Conferences and fairs can admit one person per four square metres. The number of people at weddings and funerals has been capped at 100 from the previously allowed 150.

Health Minister Adam Niedzielski announced on Tuesday that a draft regulation would be presented soon, which will introduce new limits on the number of people attending assemblies, including family celebrations that would allow up to 100 persons in the “green” zone, up to 75 in the “yellow” zone and a 50-person limit on gatherings in the “red” zone.

According to the planned changes, the “red” zone will see new restrictions, including curfews for restaurants, pubs and bars (they can remain open until 10 pm). Also, the obligation to cover the mouth and nose outdoors will be extended and will also apply in the “yellow” zone, and not only in the “red” zone, as introduced so far.