Celebrations of May 3 Constitution display of regional unity: official

The meeting of the presidents of Poland, Lithuania, Estonia, Latvia and Ukraine was a very clear demonstration of the region's unity, and solidarity between our countries, the presidential aide Krzysztof Szczerski told the Polish Press Agency PAP following the celebrations marking the 230th anniversary of the adoption of the May 3 Constitution.

Presidents of Poland, Lithuania, Estonia, Latvia and Ukraine adopt joint declaration

see more

Mr Szczerski pointed to the personal bond between the presidents, which, according to him, “was clearly visible at many moments of Monday's ceremonies.“

"Both during the debate and in the backstage, it was clear that this is not only a group of people who represent countries that are close, but they are also close to each other in personal terms. This is important because the bond and friendship between the leaders is of great importance," the presidential minister said.

He noted that Monday's celebrations "marked a new circle of the political heritage of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, which is also important for the present and for the future."

"Today we have two clear points of reference - firstly, the Visegrad Group, which is a regional community built around European integration, and secondly, we also have such a circle of deeper heritage, rooted in history," Krzysztof Szczerski said.

In this context, the presidential aide stated that it is about "a group of states that are united not only by the contemporary situation - security issues, regional interests - but also by the deep roots of political traditions that can be referred to together". Minister Szczerski emphasised that Belarus and Moldova also count in the countries in question.

On Monday, state ceremonies were held in Warsaw on the occasion of the 230th anniversary of the adoption of the May 3rd Constitution, with the participation of President Andrzej Duda and the presidents of Lithuania, Estonia, Latvia and Ukraine.

President Duda and the leaders of Lithuania - Gitanas Nauseda, Estonia - Kersti Kaljulaid, Latvia - Egils Levits and Ukraine - Volodymyr Zelensky signed a joint declaration on the 230th anniversary of the adoption of the May 3rd Constitution, and then debated on the future of Europe.